List of Governors

The Local Governing Committee oversees the strategic direction of the school and is made up as follows:

  • James Newman (Ex-officio)
  • Phil Cairns (Chair/Co-opted governor)
  • Andrew Collins (Vice Chair, Co-opted governor)
  • Karen Thomas (Co-opted governor)
  • Wendy Thomas (Parent governor)
  • Paul Hepburn (Parent governor) 
  • Visham Woochit (Co-opted governor) 

Governors play an important role in the life of the school. They take a long-term strategic view of the way in which the school is developing. Their main function is to ensure that the school improves so that the highest standards possible are achieved in all aspects of school life. In many ways, a governing committee is like a board of directors of a company: they make decisions about standards, policies, funding and recruitment of senior staff. The headteacher and the staff are responsible for the day-to-day running of the school. They work hard to implement the School Improvement Plan. It is the responsibility of the governors to challenge and support the school in its ways of achieving the best for students.

Governors' duties include:

  • promoting high standards
  • setting targets for pupil achievement
  • taking general responsibility for the conduct of the school
  • managing the school's budget
  • making sure that the curriculum is balanced and broadly based, in particular that the National Curriculum and religious education are taught, and reporting on pupils' achievement in National Curriculum assessments and examination results
  • participating in the appointment of senior staff and regulating staff conduct and discipline.

If you would like any further information about the governing committee please contact Phil Cairns at the school or via email:

BET Governance and Scheme of DelegationWe now have two sub-committees: Performance Committee & Resources Committee.

Membership of these is as follows:

Performance Committee: Karen Thomas (chair), Phil Cairns, Andrew Collins, Wendy Thomas, Paul Hepburn and Visham Woochit

Resources Committee: Andrew Collins (chair), Phil Cairns, Wendy Thomas, Paul Hepburn and Visham Woochit

Designated Governors:

  • Phil Cairns - Link Governor & Pupil Premium
  • Andy Collins - Health & Safety
  • Karen Thomas - Inclusion & Special Educational Needs (SEN)
  • Wendy Thomas - Safeguarding
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now